Brookes Brothers: The Jivy Ivy Jacket.

I came across this piece the other day through a menswear forum I frequently peruse; shout out the WYAW group on FB. It was opened up to discussion as a Seersucker jacket with an ‘edge’. As history shows us the Ivy style is not all trad and ‘Jivy Ivy’ ensembles have prevailed long before.Jivy Ivy

Since setting my eyes on this jacket, I can’t seem to get it out of my mind. Undeniably, Brooks Brothers needs no introduction however, of late I’ve been keeping my eye on the pieces they’ve been putting out and what they’re also doing as a brand to engage a younger audience more than I have before. For example, recently working together with the ‘of the moment style icon’, R&B music producer come artist Nick Waterhouse.

Saying that, the only minor  down side (which is quickly forgoten) is what they’ve called it – Seersucker ‘Fun’ Jacket. Emphasis on the word Fun… it reminds me of what my middle aged aunt, who I see once a year, said about my Christmas day jacket choice once. If you get my drift…

That aside, it’s a jacket that needs serious attention but at the $875 price tag I doubt it’ll be joining my other jackets anytime soon. Unless Brooks Brothers wants me to rock in round the street of London. Just saying.

http://www.brooksbrothers.com/SEERSUCKER-FUN-JACKET/FM00085,default,pd.html?dwvar_FM00085_Color=NAVY&contentpos=19&cgid=0729http://www.brooksbrothers.com/SEERSUCKER-FUN-JACKET/FM00085,default,pd.html?dwvar_FM00085_Color=NAVY&contentpos=19&cgid=0729

This entry was published on May 31, 2013 at 3:18 pm. It’s filed under Blog post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Brookes Brothers: The Jivy Ivy Jacket.

  1. Jack Woodruff on said:

    What’s the WYAW group? I’m curious!

Leave a Reply

